Where is Alaska

Where is Alaska

Alaska is a state in north-western Canada, United States. Alaska is the one of the largest state in the United States. As you can see from the map of the states provided by Alaska, it is an unconnected state located on the north-western tip of the North American continent.


Alaska is the eastern border of Canada. The Pacific Ocean to the south and the Arctic Ocean to the north. The Western Rising system separates it from the Russian Federation.

Alaska is the 49th state in the United States, founded in 1959. Originally a Russian territory, it was purchased by the United States in 1867. Alaska has a predominantly Arctic climate and is not suitable for human habitation. Because Alaska is a state in the United States. Population is small. About half of Alaska’s population lives in the Anchorage metropolitan area on the south coast. Located in the south-eastern part of the state, Juneau is the capital of Alaska.

Located around central Alaska, Mount McKinley is the highest mountain in North America (6194 m). At the top of the Alaska Range. The map of Alaska clearly shows that the coastline of the states is longer than all the states in the United States.

The state’s economy is heavily dependent on natural resources, such as oil and gas. One percent of government revenue also comes from marine fishing. It has a hilly area and a hostile climate, so railroads and roads are very poorly maintained. Nevertheless, densely populated cities have built roads and railways. Air routes are often the only means of communication with the continental United States. However, other textile materials are transported by sea roots.

Alaska population and density

Alaska is currently the 48th most populous state in the country. With a vast surface area of ​​665,384 square miles, Alaska is by far the largest state in the United States. Alaska is by far the least populous state in the Union, with an average density of only 1.2 per square mile.


As you can imagine, there aren’t many big cities in Alaska. There are 29 cities, towns and villages with a population of 1,000 or more. Anchorage, the largest city, had a population of 298,695 in 2015, making it the 82nd largest city in the United States. With the exception of Anchorage, only two cities have a population of over 10,000. The capital cities of Juneau (population: 32,756) and Fairbanks (population: 32,325).

Alaska Demographics

According to the latest ACS, the ethnic composition of Alaska is as follows:

  • White: 64.58%
  • Two or more races: 8.23%
  • Native American: 14.89%
  • Black or African American: 3.28%
  • Asian: 6.23%
  • Other races: 1.53%
  • Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander: 1.25%